City of Atlanta

City of Atlanta

Atlanta is not only the county seat for Fulton County, but it is also the State capital. The city was named Terminus in 1842 and later changed to Marthasville, in honor of Governor Wilson Lumpkin's daughter, and then to Atlanta in 1848. Incorporated as a city December 29, 1845, Atlanta was named the state capital on April 20, 1868.

Several attractions are located in Atlanta, including Underground Atlanta, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center, the World of Coca-Cola Museum and Zoo Atlanta. Most recently, Atlanta gained worldwide predominance by hosting the world in the centennial Olympic Games.

Incorporated: December 29, 1845
Population: 416,474
Total Area: N/A

55 Trinity Ave S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia
Phone: (404) 330-6000
Fax:       (404) 658-6273

  • Martin Luther King Jr. Center
  • Woodruff Arts Center
  • Zoo Atlanta
  • Centennial Olympic Park

  • Return to Local Resources